Veggie Tortilla-Crusted Quiche

2 May

Breakfast for dinner is one of my favorite meals. I partake in that often, with cereal, omelettes, scrambled eggs, pancakes, pb & j, and oatmeal. Ok, it’s rare that I eat *actual* dinner for dinner! But really, breakfast is amazing. And I highly endorse eating it more than once a day! Gives you the luxury of an energy-filled meal, without having to eat it at the crack of dawn. A win-win, if you ask me.

I also love coming home after an intense workout, to a dinner that requires no work. Sometimes, however, that means I have to put in the work BEFORE my evening exercise session (ahem, late night Zumba!). But that’s ok, because cooking is fun, when not exhausted and sweaty.

Solution: quiche! It’s quick to prepare, bakes in little time, and is perfectly tasty even if left alone for a couple hours. So that’s what I did. Made myself a vegetable quiche to enjoy after Zumba – a good dose of protein, healthy fats, fibers, and carbs. Oh, and it’s delicious! Paired with a side salad and seasonal fruit, you have yourself one amazing meal.

Veggie Tortilla Crusted Quiche

Veggie Tortilla-Crusted Quiche (Serves 4. Inspired by Rachael Ray)

  • 3 large flour tortillas
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 bell pepper seeded and diced
  • 1 C chopped broccoli florets, either from frozen or fresh
  • 3/4 C shredded cheddar cheese (I hand-shredded from a block of sharp cheddar)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 C plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp diced green chilis
  • paprika

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a PAM-sprayed glass pie dish, layer tortilla shells so that the entire surface is covered. It’s best to cut two of the tortillas in half, layer around the edges, then place the third whole tortilla on the bottom.

Using a nonstick pan, heat oil, and saute onion, pepper and broccoli florets. Helps to cover the pan with a lid, letting them get soft. Saute for about 10-15 minutes, or to your liking.

In the meantime, shred cheese. In a mixing bowl, crack eggs, add Greek yogurt, salt, pepper, garlic powder and green chiles. Whisk together until completely smooth, with a fork.

Once veggies are thoroughly cooked, spread evenly into prepared tortilla crust. Sprinkle with shredded cheese. Pour egg mixture on top. Sprinkle liberally with paprika. Bake at 375 for 30 minutes.

Allow to cool for 10 minutes before serving. This tastes great fresh, or as leftovers! I made this for dinner, and will be enjoying it for lunch again. ๐Ÿ™‚

Veggie Tortilla Crusted Quiche

12 Responses to “Veggie Tortilla-Crusted Quiche”

  1. Melisa R May 2, 2013 at 1:30 pm #

    I’ve never made a Quiche but your recipe looks just too delicious to not try it.

    • xtinaluvspink May 2, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

      I encourage you to give this a shot, then! It’s SO easy. I cannot stress that enough. The most work is in the sauteeing…which is required in most good recipes anyway! And the use of tortilla shells instead of making a “real” crust cuts way down on time and effort (and empty carbs!)

      Let me know how it turns out for you! Feel free to add other spices and herbs. Use different veggies (this is what I had on hand), and any cheese you like! Also, it really does taste amazing as cold leftovers…had it for lunch today at work ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sonali- The Foodie Physician March 2, 2016 at 8:10 pm #

    Yay for breakfast for dinner, one of my faves too! This tortilla crust is so creative- I love it!

  3. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner April 1, 2016 at 8:21 am #

    I am all about egg casseroles and dishes love the use of the tortilla here. Great idea! Hope you will linkup to meatless Monday next week

    • xtinaluvspink April 1, 2016 at 8:44 am #

      I definitely will! Linked up another recipe to yours this week ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Tricia@MissSippiPiddlin.com April 1, 2016 at 1:20 pm #

    I have been reading so much about these quiches I have got to break down and try them. This one sure looks amazing and pretty easy too! That part I like!

    • xtinaluvspink April 1, 2016 at 1:26 pm #

      Super easy!! Give it a shot this weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Erica @ erica finds April 1, 2016 at 6:10 pm #

    Great idea! I love the easy crust idea! I am pinning this. Thank you!!

  6. wendyistakingthelongwayhome April 1, 2016 at 6:29 pm #

    This looks yummy and I’d like to make this for work! Pinning!

  7. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure, and Health April 2, 2016 at 7:59 am #

    this is such a smart idea..instead of a crust – much easier option is tortilla for sure!

  8. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) April 2, 2016 at 2:47 pm #

    What a great idea for a crust.

  9. Sandra Laflamme April 2, 2016 at 10:26 pm #

    What a clever way too make a quiche. I love the idea of using a tortilla for a crust!

Leave a Reply

