{Guest Post} Remote Controlled Ovens and a Dump Cake Recipe

16 Apr

It’s that time again for a guest post! This one comes from my good friend, Erin Kunert, from GreatIdeasByErin. Her blog is all about “great ideas” – those things which we all wish existed, but for some reason, do not. In exchange for her words on my blog, I came up with a great idea of my own for her blog! Check out the brilliance that is “savory cereal” after you see what Erin has to share below.

Dear Christina’s Viewers,

I have been so excited to do this blog swap! Since this blog is frequently a recipe blog, I have decided to combine my usual post with a a recipe to fit her general theme.

When I get home after a long day I am usually pretty darn hungry! I’m not talking cook a three course meal and sit down to politely eat; no I’m talking shove as much food as possible into my face in the least amount of time possible. I simply do not have the time or the energy to wait around for something to cook.

One of my favorite quick & easy foods is the frozen pizza. All you have to do is turn on the oven, preheat, put in the pizza, and take it out when it’s done. It’s simple but delicious and frozen pizzas are usually pretty affordable. In fact you can typically always find some that are on sale. Because frozen pizzas are delicious and easy, I find that waiting for them is almost painful at times. It takes a while to preheat the oven, and then after that you still have to cook the pizza!

pizza in oven

Mmmm bubbling hot pizza.

They’ve already made it possible to click a button to start your car, so why can’t you click a button while on your way home from work, or better yet, the grocery store with your freshly purchased frozen pizza, and preheat your oven? It would save you valuable time, and help you get to eating quicker, which is a huge accomplishment when you’re starving!

Now, you might be thinking: Hey Erin, isn’t it dangerous to turn your oven on, if say, you got stuck in traffic, or something else came up causing you to be much later than expected? Well, like many things, they’d have a certain setting. My curling iron will eventually turn itself off, as will my car’s headlights. If the oven is on, unused, for a certain amount of time, it would then send you a reminder to your phone, e-mail, or whatever you set as the best way to reach you, letting you know that you should either tell it to stay on for a little while longer, or that it will be shutting off automatically. That would ensure your home stays safe, but you would still be in control.

Time is money. Time spent not waiting for the oven to preheat is priceless!

And now, as promised, my recipe! This is a special one that I learned from my mother, and we have both been making it for years. This too would be easier with a remote controlled oven!

Dump Cake (8-10 servings)

  • Β 1 small can crushed pineapple
  • 1 can cherry pie filling
  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 2 sticks butter or margarine, cut into pats
  • Β½ cup chopped nuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a 9 x 13 ungreased pan, dump in pineapple with juice and spread evenly. Dump in pie filling and spread over pineapple. Dump in dry yellow cake mix and spread evenly. Place butter or margarine pats in rows on top of the dry cake mix. Sprinkle with nut topping.

Bake for 1 hour.

Let cool for 10-15 minutes, so you don’t burn yourself, and then serve up warm! Tastes great with Cool Whip, or homemade whipped cream, or ice cream.

For variety, try apple pie filling instead of cherry, or cherry pie filling with chocolate cake mix for black forest flavor.

If you’re aiming for a slightly less unhealthy version, opt for: sugar free pie filling, low sugar/low fat cake mix, and use only 1/4 – 1/2 C coconut oil in place of the butter. It’ll still be an indulgent treat, but you won’t feel quite as guilty.

Love Always,

Erin

One Response to “{Guest Post} Remote Controlled Ovens and a Dump Cake Recipe”

  1. xtinaluvspink April 16, 2013 at 8:11 am #

    I first learned about “dump cake” at Girl Scout camp…we made it in a huge dutch oven, over a fire we built. My mother then took it, adjusted it to be made in a normal oven at home, and we’d been making it ever since! It’s been years now since we had this, but I can remember how delicious, and EASY it is! And so many flavor options, too! Blueberry filling + white cake mix is pretty grand, if I recall. I hope you all enjoy this!

Leave a Reply

