Baby Shower Sugar Cookies

16 Mar

The news has gotten around at work that I bake well. Mostly because I often bring baked goods to the office, just for the fun of it. This led to my friend, Helga, asking me to bake the cookies for her baby shower. “Sure!” I exclaimed, thinking it’d be easier for me to make cupcakes, but that I’m flexible enough to bake up pretty much anything. She sent me the three sugar cookie recipes she had in mind, and set me to it, with the only other desire being that I use all-natural food dyes for the icing (thanks, Whole Foods, for carrying such a product!)

I’m not usually a fan of sugar cookies. Their main purpose is to LOOK nice, whereas I make it a point for my cooking and baking to first and foremost TASTE good, and all the better if it looks pretty! These recipes, however, were a refreshing surprise on taste and appearance. The flavors in all three were subtle, but enough to elevate them above the basic cut-out sugar cookie we’ve all decorated in the past.

Decorated Baby Shower Sugar Cookies

Presented on a platter at the baby shower, all the women loved these adorable and tasty cookies!

Below are the links to three recipes I made. Everyone liked them! Which is the best compliment a baker can receive 🙂

Cardamom-Honey Cookies

My notes:

  • If you don’t have cardamom handy, substitute with equal parts cinnamon and nutmeg.
  • Flavor a basic royal icing with a bit of vanilla extract to improve the taste of it.
  • For all cookies: take them out of the oven BEFORE you see them turning brown. They will continue to cook on the cookie sheet even after you take them out. I prefer my cookies a bit chewy, not crispy. And this is the way to achieve that.
Cardamom Honey Cookies

Freshly cut, about to be baked, these cookies had a subtle and surprising flavor and weren’t overly sweet.

Lemon-Rosemary Cookies

My notes:

  • Definitely use fresh lemon zest and juice! This really makes a difference in the taste.
Baby Shower Iced Cut Out Cookies

I’m not much of a cookie decorator, but this was a fun challenge!

Orange Sugar Cookies

My notes:

  • Again, use a real orange, and zest and juice it.
  • Save the egg whites for use in basic royal icing, like the one for the lemon-rosemary cookies.
  • Being that these were for a baby shower, I couldn’t use alcohol in the icing, so I simply replaced the Grand Marnier with fresh-squeezed orange juice. I also left out the zest, and it still tasted great.
Baby Shower Iced Cut Out Cookies

Pink and yellow…girly and so bright!

I wonder who’ll ask me to bake cookies for them next! Have you ever been tasked with baking something new and challenging?

3 Responses to “Baby Shower Sugar Cookies”

  1. diana bauer March 17, 2013 at 9:14 am #

    Your sister and mom have birthdays this week

  2. gertrud villing March 24, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

    Looks good

Leave a Reply

