Quinoa & Tofu Veggie Stir Fry

4 Mar

This weekend was my first ever trip to Trader Joe’s.

I. Was. In. Heaven. WHY have I never gone before?! The organic foods, the unprocessed items, the healthy (slightly better-than-thou) clientele…it’s all that I’ve ever wanted in a grocery store. And I LOVE grocery shopping in general, so this was just a wonderful sensory overload. It’s a good thing I didn’t grab a cart upon entering, so that I could only buy that which I could carry. I’m a clever one sometimes.

This trip inspired me to create a healthy dinner. I bought a few blocks of tofu, and found a half-full package of quinoa at home. This called for a healthy stir fry! With a little help and guidance from the Vocal Vegan, I made this delightful meal.

Dinner time! Quinoa & Tofu Veggie Stir Fry

A big bowl full of yum!

Quinoa & Tofu Veggie Stir Fry, adapted from The Vocal Vegan

Serves 4

  • 1 C uncooked quinoa
  • 3 large carrots, peeled and grated
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 C broccoli, chopped (fresh or frozen)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 1/2 block of extra firm tofu, diced into 1/2″ cubes, or smaller if you prefer (I saved the other half of the block in an airtight container, covered in the tofu juices from the package, to be used later this week)
  • 4- 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger (or use fresh if you have it!)
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp high quality olive or peanut oil

Cook quinoa according to package instructions. Or, if you’re a prepare-ahead type, you can use quinoa you’ve already cooked! Work on the rest of the ingredients while this cooks. Set aside until you’re ready to use it.

Prep vegetables, saute in pan with one tbsp oil. You could also steam the veggies, but I’m a fan of sauteing everything 🙂

Prepping ingredients and tofu

I feel like I’m on a cooking show…with all the ingredients in tiny bowls, ready to use!

Combine minced garlic and ginger in one small bowl. Combine soy sauce and olive/peanut oil in another small bowl. It helps to have everything ready, because things move quickly from here.

Once veggies are nearly done to your liking, heat a large skillet over high heat. It’s hot enough when a drop of water disappears off the surface in a second. Add the other tbsp olive oil, and the diced tofu. Fry for a minute or two, until the tofu starts browning. Add the garlic-ginger mixture, and stir fry another minute. Now, add the veggies, and mix everything together well.

Add the cooked quinoa, and stir again, making sure to scoop from the bottom of the pan, so everything gets stir-fried (yeah…..I didn’t really make the connection until now that it’s called “stir fry” based on the method of cooking the dish….learn something new every day!). Finally, add the soy sauce mixture, and stir well…again.

Quinoa & Tofu Veggie Stir Fry

Everything is all stirred and fried…happy in the skillet, together at last 🙂

And that’s it! How easy is that?! Serve up in bowls and eat hot. Between the healthy carbs and proteins of the quinoa, the fiber of the vegetables, and the protein of the tofu, this meal is incredibly filling and satisfying. You get all the flavors of a traditional stir fry, but healthier! And vegan 🙂 The leftovers are also pretty awesome, as the flavors of the garlic and ginger have a chance to intensify over time. This meal came together, from start to finish, in less than 30 minutes, so it’s perfect on a busy weeknight. You can even get your loved ones, kids, or roomies to help prep veggies, stir, and mince!

Enjoy!

Dinner time! Quinoa & Tofu Veggie Stir Fry

My lovely sister, Sonja, about to devour dinner.

How should I use the other half block of tofu? Recipe suggestions?

4 Responses to “Quinoa & Tofu Veggie Stir Fry”

  1. erika March 5, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    YUM. This is like my ideal dinner. I really really love fried rice, but nowadays I eat “fried quinoa” the way you do, packed with loads of veggies, and feel virtuous. Hah. Other half block of tofu suggestions…I used to really like pureeing it into dessert-y things like peanut butter mousse before I realized sweetened tofu + my stomach = not a great combo. But maybe you could cut it into strips, marinate in soy sauce and bake? I had this salad with crispy baked tofu that was amazing! Or cut into slabs, crust and bake. Or just saute again 🙂

    • xtinaluvspink March 5, 2013 at 9:13 am #

      Ooh, I like those ideas!! Baking it sounds good, and easy. Maybe I’ll set it to marinate tonight, and bake it up for dinner tomorrow! Yum 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegetable Couscous Salad | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - January 22, 2014

    […] an escape to whichever destination you choose. Inspired by the Great Wall of China? Cook up a tasty stir-fry. Craving spice? Roast some root vegetables in Sriracha. Or perhaps a trip to the Middle East is […]

  2. Vegetable Enchiladas with Homemade Enchilada Sauce | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - February 17, 2014

    […] of the grocery store, looking for dinner inspiration. One night is Israeli couscous, the next is Chinese stir-fry, and then sometimes we go south to Mexico. I picked up a can of red enchilada sauce the other day, […]

Leave a Reply

