Tangerine Cupcakes with Lemon Cream Cheese Buttercream

22 Jan
I woke up this morning to below zero temps (Fahrenheit, that is). It is COLD. I didn’t even want to leave work simply for fear of walking outside to my car! But I did it, knowing that I would soon be baking these lovely citrus cakes. The oven was so warm and welcoming and I was more than happy to spend my evening in the kitchen for the heat alone!
Tangerine Cupcakes with Lemon Cream Cheese Buttercream
The reason for these cupcakes? At work, I’m part of the Hispanic Affinity Network, and tomorrow we’re having a luncheon event, for which the organizer of it asked me to bake cupcakes for all attendees. I thought that a summery citrusy flavor is the way to go, especially when it’s -6 degrees outside. A little research brought me the following two recipes, which I’ve adapted…because that’s what I do 🙂
Tangerine Cupcakes, inspired by Foodie Lovely
Makes 18 cupcakes
  • 1/2 stick (1/4C) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 C unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 Cup sugar
  • 1 TBSP Tangerine zest
  • 2 Large eggs
  • 3/4 Cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 Cup Tangerine juice
  • 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
Preheat oven to 350. Line & spray with PAM 18-20 cupcake tins (I got 19 cupcakes).
How cute are these liners? I love me some Sur la Table clearance

How cute are these liners? I love me some Sur la Table clearance 😀

Sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
Combine in another bowl the eggs, heavy cream, juice and vanilla. Mix well to beat the eggs.
In a large mixing bowl, cream together butter, applesauce, sugar and tangerine zest until light and fluffy. Alternate adding some of the dry and some of the wet mixtures to the butter/sugar, mixing well after each addition, until all has been incorporated.
IMG_1547IMG_1551IMG_1552IMG_1553
Spoon (or use a cookie scoop) the batter into prepared cupcake tins.
Cupcake batter
Bake 20-25 minutes, or until inserted toothpick comes out clean. Let cupcakes cool in tin, and remove to a wire rack.
Fresh from the oven Close-up cupcake
Lemon Cream Cheese Buttercream, inspired by My Baking Addiction
1 (4 oz) package Neufchatel cream cheese, softened
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
2-4 C powdered sugar (amount is really up to you – I use less sugar than many bakers, because I don’t like it so sweet)
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp lemon juice
Cream together butter and cream cheese until well combined. Add vanilla and lemon juice, and a cup of powdered sugar, mix well. Keep adding sugar until you reach desired consistency and taste (seriously – taste as you go! Nothing is worse than frosting a batch of cupcakes, only to find out later you didn’t add enough sugar in the frosting).
Frosting Cupcake container
Pipe (I used a Wilton 2A tip) or smear on the frosting, and decorate as you see fit! I kept these ones nice and simple 🙂 Think my co-workers will like them?
Perfectly frosted cupcake
P.S. if you have leftover frosting, like I almost always do, this tastes amazing on apple wedges! What’s better than butter + cheese + sugar + fruit, right? 😀 Or slather some on corn muffins! My other baking project from the night: healthy, corncob-shaped cornbread muffins…yummmm.
Cornbread muffins
Leave a Reply

