Elf 4 Health

26 Nov

Oops, I haven’t posted anything in a while. That’s what Thanksgiving will do to a girl! I quickly became busy doing Zumba, baking pies, helping my mom cook dinner, doing more Zumba, eating that dinner, followed by more zumba, and just general relaxing all weekend long. It was wonderful 🙂 Even did a little shopping somewhere in there (new, smaller-sized sweaters, yes please!)

Alas, the four pies (4, yes FOUR whole pies, for the seven people that sat at our Thanksgiving dinner table) must come to an end. This past October, I participated in the #unprocessed challenge, for which I ate as unprocessed as I possibly could, and it was great! I ate healthier, found and tried new recipes, and learned an awful lot about the food I used to consume. I’m a healthier person because of it. Starting today, I am an elf. No, not Santa’s little helper. But an elf for health!

Click the above image to link directly to the site, and for all the details. The challenge started today, but two weeks from now will begin another round, and you can join in then!

Every two weeks, we get matched up with a new “elf,” and then we help motivate each other towards our individual goals! Additionally, there are specific daily challenges. Today’s was Meatless Monday – go vegetarian for the day! This is a pretty easy task for me, as most of my meals are meatless. But it was fun getting a little creative as to different meals this time around. My elf and I (her name is Beth) have been communicating back and forth, sharing recipes, sharing life details, and getting to know each other! This will be a fun 6 weeks 🙂

In honor of #meatlessmonday, I photographed all of today’s eats, with the exception of lunch: homemade potato soup (no bacon!) and raw carrots. Oh, and the 4 cups of tea and 2 cups of coffee I had while at work.

20121126-173133.jpg

Breakfast: Cranberry sauce overnight steel cut oats

20121126-173155.jpg

Orange-colored mid-morning snack 🙂

20121126-173209.jpg

Prepping dinner!

20121126-173226.jpg

Pre-Zumba dinner: corn tortillas, cayenne hummus, scrambled eggs and black beans

So, how are you keeping fit and maintaining your health for the upcoming holiday season? Do you have any tips? Recipes? Workout routines? Feel free to share in the comments!

2 Responses to “Elf 4 Health”

  1. kristyshealthrevolution November 28, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    Ohh, your food just made my tummy growl! Especially the orange midday snack, yum.

    • xtinaluvspink November 28, 2012 at 9:07 am #

      Heehee, thanks! The orange theme was pure coincidence…that’s what we had at home – need to go grocery shopping!!

Leave a Reply

