Post-Workout Nutrition

20 Nov

My Meatless Monday ended with a kick-ass hour of Zumba. Pumpkin pie oatmeal for breakfast, sauteed chickpeas & raw veggies for lunch, and a baked sweet potato topped with sauteed onions, black beans, shredded mozzarella and spices was my dinner. Oh, and one of those delicious Caramel Delite brownies found its way into my diet πŸ™‚

But after a sweaty and exhilarating Zumba session, I needed something to refuel and replenish. Sometimes I’ll make a veggie omelet, or oatmeal, or even just nuts and dried fruit. This time however, I went with a yummy and slightly sweet combination: plain nonfat Greek yogurt, some homemade pumpkin pie granola (LOVE this recipe), a thinly sliced banana, and a drizzle of honey. Packed with protein, fiber, potassium, carbs and natural sugars, this was perfect after an intense workout!

20121120-095432.jpg

What are your favorite post-workout snacks and meals? Anything I should try next time?

2 Responses to “Post-Workout Nutrition”

  1. Aislinn November 20, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    I usually have the same thing! Usually a yogurt parfait…not quite as interesting as yours. How long have you been doing zumba? I have been thinking about doing it.

    • xtinaluvspink November 20, 2012 at 10:10 am #

      Just so yummy and versatile! Dried fruit tastes great in it too. I’ve been doing Zumba for about 20 months now, and I LOVE it! Check out my earlier post about it. And try out a class! You might find you love it too. It’s done so much for me, and I always look forward to those workouts. It’s too much fun, and such a great calorie-burner and mood-booster.

Leave a Reply

