Versatile Brownies

18 Nov

I recently discovered n incredibly simple and insanely delicious brownie recipe. I mean, any recipe that includes one of my favorite candies must be good. But I didn’t have any peanut butter cups, much less one that weights 1/2 pound! And I don’t own a cast iron skillet (shock!). And like I’ve mentioned before, I never follow a recipe. So instead, when I made these the first time around, I used up a spare bag of Hershey’s Caramel Kisses I had lying around. Melted half the kisses into the butter and this the batter. The other half got placed on top of the prepared pan, pointy side down. The result was AMAZING. I made them for a birthday party yesterday, and they were so moist! The caramel kisses also created these delectable pockets of caramel in each bite. Oh so good.

When I opened my freezer earlier today, I realized I had a box of Caramel Delite Girl Scout cookies just hanging out. With the urge to bake, I whipped up the same brownie batter, and placed the entire box of cookies on top. How clever! I have a few marzipan logs in my fridge…maybe I’ll make marzipan brownies tomorrow 🙂

Brownie Batter – add in whatever candy!

1½ cups of white sugar
¾ cup of flour
¾ cup of cocoa
3 eggs
¾ cup of butter
Chocolate candies, cookies, whatever (optional)

Instructions
1. Melt the butter in a pot, remove from the heat and stir in the white sugar. (I tried the microwave once – butter exploded everywhere! Stovetop is best)
2. Once combined, mix in cocoa.
3. Add in your eggs and mix it very well.
4. Add in your flour and barely stir it in. Don’t over mix!
5. Pour batter into greased 8×8″ glass pan. Top with cookies or candies, if desired.
6. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes until the brownie batter is cooked (if you make plain brownies, reduce the baking time to 25 minutes, and keep in longer if necessary).

Allow to cool completely. Ok, NEARLY completely. Lets be honest…warm brownies are way better! Enjoy 🙂

Versatile Brownies

3 Responses to “Versatile Brownies”

  1. Brittany November 18, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

    OMG the cookies on top is genius. Pure genius.

    • xtinaluvspink November 18, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      Why thank you! I considered putting them on bottom, but that wouldn’t be as pretty or photogenic 🙂 Though I DID do that with my Caramel Delite cupcakes – cookie on the bottom of each, chocolate cake batter, caramel frosting, shredded coconut and chocolate sauce drizzle on top!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Post-Workout Nutrition « Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - November 20, 2012

    […] onions, black beans, shredded mozzarella and spices was my dinner. Oh, and one of those delicious Caramel Delite brownies found its way into my […]

Leave a Reply

