My first WIAW!

7 Nov

The political ads are all gone! Woohoo! I hope you all voted, and regardless of who you, or I, wanted to win, it’s time to help our country move forward and become better.

And a great way to start doing that is with your own health. And food! Food is always good. Here’s my first What I Ate Wednesday post…exciting, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

Breakfast, as always, was oatmeal. I. LOVE. OATMEAL. So much ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

Using the same ‘base’ from theย Almond Joy Overnight Oatsย I made last week, I concocted a cranberry version! How very autumnal. My Oma (82 year old German grandma) makes THE BEST cranberry sauce ever. Sweet, yet still tart, saucy yet with cranberries still in tact. It’s delicious. And she gave me a container of it this past weekend. So I’ve been spooning it into my oatmeal every day this week! Steel cut oats, milk, greek yogurt, lots of cinnamon, flaxseed meal, vanilla extract, and two heaping spoonfuls of cranberry sauce. Mixed up to create a lovely light pink color (go figure!). Tastes so yummy.

Image

Lunch is actually leftovers of last night’s dinner. I usually cook for date night, and I like to get creative in the kitchen, so I combined two dishes into one: Ratatouille Pizza! With my sister’s help, we made a whole wheat pizza crust, using the recipe from this site. Then, with a quick Google search, I found this recipe for a Ratatouille pizza…apparently I wasn’t the first to come up with this idea. With thinly sliced eggplant, zucchini and tomato, I layered the veggies on the lightly-sauced crust. Topped that with chopped onion and fresh garlic, some herbs, mozzarella cheese, and crumbled goat cheese. Here’s the finished product:

Image

It was great! All the flavors of traditional French Ratatouille, but on a pizza. In an effort to educate myself a little about wine, I went to the local wine shop, and with help from owner, picked out this Viognier, which was a crisp, dry, sweet white wine. My wine taste buds aren’t THAT developed, but I thought it was a good pairing!

Image

Ok, so this is more like a WIATAW (What I Ate Tuesday And Wednesday). But I DO have pizza leftovers for lunch today (no wine left, though!). Bon Appetit ๐Ÿ™‚

One Response to “My first WIAW!”

  1. mixitupandmakeitnice November 7, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    Love the Ratatouille Pizza idea! Will have to bear it in mind for the next time we have a tonne of courgettes (zucchinis) to use up ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

