Anti-NaNoWriMo

31 Oct

Hello all!

I’m Christina, and I’m starting this blog for a variety of reasons, but mostly because I’m NOT doing NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) this November. For the past three years, I’ve hunkered down, worked my creative wheels till they nearly broke down, and written a 50,000 word novel. It has been one of the most challenging experiences of my life (times 3!), and one that helped me cultivate my relationship with myself. Forcing me to dig deep into the untouched parts of my being, and pull out what I really believe and think in this world. It was almost an ethereal experience, and one that I strode through with pride (and lots of caffeinated beverages). The feeling that would result, come November 30 at 11:59pm, knowing I had yet again completed an entire novel from scratch, was one of the best feelings in the world. Such an accomplishment, despite how poorly written the novels were!

This year, however, I’ve realized that I do not in fact want to write a novel. Now, I’m not being lazy, or making excuses (time, energy, ideas, sanity, etc). In the past, writing a novel was a true desire, that came from the depths of my mind and heart. But as I thought long and hard about the potential novel’s plot this year, I discovered that I don’t want to do it. New opportunities and challenges have presented themselves. New relationships are waiting to be cultivated. And I want to spend my time in those arenas, facing those battles (with just a little bit less caffeine). So instead, I’m starting this blog. I DO want to keep up the practice of writing for writing’s sake. It’s something I’ve always enjoyed, and do not want to lose the ability to just sit down and write. I’ve always meant to start a blog (the topic – well, we’ll see where my posts take me), and NaNoWriMo is about completing something on your “some day” list. Which is exactly what I will be doing with this. It’s time for me to move on, grow, and change, adapting my actions to the new person I am continually becoming. And I’m excited to see something new produced as a result of that!

This blog might start out as random posts about who knows what, but I can guarantee you’ll see my opinions on fitness (I’m a Zumba addict!), photos of my work in the kitchen (hello, cupcakes!), and whatever else it is that pops into my head. I’m sure I’ll be an aide to my sister’s NaNoWriMo experience this year, and you’ll see posts about that too. Who knows, perhaps I’ll take part in a few no-novel word wars, and post what comes from that! I AM still creative 🙂

Ok, I think that about explains it. So this is my first anti-nano post. Look for more to come! I’m challenging myself to write at least one post per day. Should be fun!!

4 Responses to “Anti-NaNoWriMo”

  1. Heather October 31, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

    There are so many ways to do creative writing. This blog, short stories, poetry, fan fictions, Role Play Games or even just posting on forums. All involve creative thought and communication skills with varying degrees of time expenditure. Congratulations on the 3 years of writing and the accomplishments you have achieved so far. And, best wishes for the discoveries you make as you move forward.

  2. kat skull October 31, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    I look forward to reading more!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin Oat Muffins for the Blog’s First Birthday! | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - November 1, 2013

    […] was my blog’s first birthday. One year ago, I promised the world of the internet, and myself, that instead of participating in National Novel […]

  2. Vegan Chickpea Barley Soup for Two | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - January 17, 2016

    […] 300 posts ago, I didn’t know that I was starting a food blog. I began writing here as a transition from doing NaNoWriMo, but soon came to find that I enjoyed writing about food and sharing my recipes with the […]

Leave a Reply

