2-Day Reboot

10 Feb

Much like computers and smart phones, our bodies sometimes require a reboot. We become bogged down with unhealthy food choices, too many beers, stress at work, and not enough sleep. And at some point, the body just says “enough!” Which is why I participated in a two-day weekend “reboot.” The menu was set by Leanne of Healthful Pursuit and with a few minor changes (eliminating the meat in meals), I stuck with it!

Restrictions were: no grains, no gluten, no coffee, no refined sugars, no dairy, no alcohol, no soda. What on earth did I eat, then, you might ask? Produce, produce and more produce, and chickpeas. And flavor! My goodness, the flavors in all of my meals was astounding. Who knew that adding cilantro and parsley to a green juice would lend so much depth to the taste? Or that a bit of honey in salad dressing would brighten it up so much?

Breakfasts consisted of a freshly-made green juice, which took a bit of effort, but tasted amazing, despite the scary emerald appearance. Because I don’t have a juicer (next on my kitchen appliance list, I think! Hello, Vitamix!), I simply used my blender and added a bit of water, then strained out the juice for consumption.

2-Day Reboot

This looks like something consumed in Emerald City

The Moroccan Chickpea Salad was also amazing – any time avocado is an ingredient, I become giddy :)

2-Day Reboot

A veggie-filled salad, this was topped off with roasted sweet potatoes, chickpeas and onions!

My favorite meal was the vegan broccoli-cauliflower soup. I made one slight adjustment to the recipe provided, which I have posted here.

2-Day Reboot

Broccoli Cauliflower Soup.

If you’re interested in doing a similar cleanse, check out Healthful Pursuit‘s site – I’m sure Leanne will happily point you in the right direction! As an unexpected side effect, I happened to lose 4.2 lbs during the cleanse. I imagine that adding grains, gluten, dairy and sugar slowly back into my diet will reverse that effect, but please take this into consideration. The reboot is meant to only last two days long, and now I know why!

Vegan Broccoli Cauliflower Soup, adapted from Healthful Pursuit

Serves 4

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 medium head cauliflower, cut small (about 4 C)
  • 3 C organic low sodium vegetable broth
  • 3 C broccoli, cut small
  • 1 tbsp onion powder (Leanne says it’s required, and I agree!)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder

In a large sauce pan, saute onion, salt and pepper in the oil for 5 minutes on medium-high heat.

Stir in the cauliflower and broth. Bring to a boil, cover and reduce to simmer for 10 minutes.

Stir in HALF the broccoli. Using your immersion blender, puree the contents of the pan. You could also transfer soup to a stand blender in batches, and return to the pan.

Stir in the remaining broccoli, onion powder and garlic powder. Cover and cook for another 10 minutes on low-medium heat. Spoon into bowls and eat immediately. Sprinkle with chili pepper flakes if you desire a bit of heat.

Would you try a weekend cleanse? Let me know in the comments! I really like how I feel afterward, so I think I’ll do this again in the future.

One Response to “2-Day Reboot”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Warm Kale, Sweet Potato and Squash Salad | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - February 12, 2014

    […] of the suggested recipes from this weekend’s 2-day reboot was a roasted root veggie salad. I purchased all ingredients for the entire weekend, but did not […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,362 other followers

