Almond Joy Overnight Oats

1 Nov

It’s fitting that my first post about food should be about oatmeal. Up until last December, I thought oatmeal was disgusting. I’d only ever been given it plain (or with brown sugar – WTF?) and that was just bad. But then I had a revelation, and gave it a try! Took a few times to convince me, but I soon came to love oatmeal, and its versatility. There’s SO MUCH you can do with it – flavors, additives, toppings, kinds of oats, ways to cook it, sweet or savory. And since that chilly day in December 2011, I’ve been eating oatmeal at least once, every day of the week. It’s a sad day for me when I don’t get to eat oatmeal.

Recently, I’ve been on a pumpkin kick, along with my #unprocessed challenge, and the fact that it’s pumpkin season. So I’ve been eating a version of pumpkin pie oats. But one can only eat that so much! So I switched it up for today’s breakfast, and concocted my own version of Almond Joy oatmeal! I’ve stopped eating candy (ok, like 95% stopped, but that’s pretty good!) but I used to eat a bunch of it, and Almond Joy bars were always high up on my favorites list. And because of the #unprocessed challenge, I’ve gotten into using steel cut oats, rather than normal oats (here’s why). Using the same base as my pumpkin pie overnight oats, I came up with this recipe:

Almond Joy Steel Cut Overnight Oats

Serves 1

  • 1/4C steel cut oats (this recipe was NOT made for regular rolled oats)
  • 1/2C skim milk (or non-dairy – your choice!)
  • 1/4C plain nonfat greek yogurt (high in protein!)
  • 1tsp cinnamon (for its health benefits, plus great flavor)
  • 1 tbsp flaxseed meal (or chia seeds, if that’s what you have)
  • 2 tbsp shredded coconut (unsweetened is best)
  • 15 roughly chopped raw almonds
  • 15 chocolate chips (milk or semi-sweet, to simulate the candy coating)
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp almond extract (not necessary, but it tastes great)

The night before you want this for breakfast: In a microwave-safe bowl, mix oats and milk, microwave for 90 seconds. Transfer to a bowl you can cover and put in the fridge overnight. Mix in everything else. Stir it up really well, cover, and set in the fridge overnight. In the morning, if you want it warm, throw it back in the microwave for 60-90 seconds. I prefer my overnight oats cold (despite the cooling Wisconsin temps this time of year) and eat it as is (though it’s best to take out of the fridge 30 min before eating – but you don’t HAVE to). This can easily be adapted to stove top or microwaved oats, if you’re inclined to spend time in the kitchen each morning, but I just don’t have the brain power to do that at 6:30 A.M.!

I’d post a picture of my oats, but they don’t look all that special. But boy do they taste good! Accompanied with some hot hazelnut coffee, I’m good to go :) Enjoy!

My calculated nutrition information: 450 calories, 54 carbs, 21 fat, 24 protein, 10 fiber, 17 sugar. So, while it may seem high calorie and fat, it’s also FULL of other good stuff! Plus, it’s unprocessed, healthy, and so yummy. Seriously, it’s like eating a bowl full of Almond Joy bars. I guarantee this’ll keep you full and satisfied until lunch.

3 Responses to “Almond Joy Overnight Oats”

  1. Sofie's Diary November 1, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    great post!!

  2. xtinaluvspink November 29, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    Amendment: This does NOT work with regular oats. Should you choose to make this that way, omit the yogurt, and use a whole cup of milk. No need to microwave it either. Trial and error by a friend.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My first WIAW! « Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - November 7, 2012

    [...] the same ‘base’ from the Almond Joy Overnight Oats I made last week, I concocted a cranberry version! How very autumnal. My Oma (82 year old German [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,348 other followers

